

Participation of third countries in Horizon Europe: Status of associations

The European Commission has concluded association agreements with a number of countries. This means that institutions from the following countries can participate as eligible partners in Horizon Europe, HEU (incl. European Innovation Council, EIC) under the same conditions as institutions from EU Member States:

Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Iceland, Israel, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, Northern Macedonia, Norway Serbia and Turkey.

- ► Association agreements have also been signed with **Albania**, **Tunisia** and **Ukraine**. They are currently in national ratification procedures and are expected to enter into force shortly.
- ▶ Association negotiations have been concluded with the Faroe Islands. The agreements have yet to be signed.
- ► Association negotiations with Morocco continue.
- The exploratory talks with the Republic of Korea are progressing, as well as those with Japan. Exploratory talks with Canada and New Zealand have been finalised.
- ► The association of the **United Kingdom** (UK) has not yet been finalised. However, the UK funding guarantee for UK project participants in Horizon Europe has been extended again and now covers all calls with a deadline up to and including 31.12.2022 (except for the European Innovation Council, EIC). More information on the status of the UK's association can be found here.
- Switzerland can participate in the 9th EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation as a non-associated third country ('associated partner'), but usually does not receive funding from HEU. Further information is available here.

Further information:

- on the status of associations can be found here.
- ► A list of participating countries can be found here.
- ► Guideline "Complementary funding mechanisms in third countries" (EU Commission)
- ◄ Vorherige Meldung